DUIs and Temporary License
Obtain A Temporary License Following A DUI Arrest
Keeping you on the road as long as possible
If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence, or DUI, in Florida as a first offense and your breath test measures a breath alcohol content of .08 percent, your driving privileges are automatically suspended for six months by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). If you refuse to submit to such a test— or a blood or urine test, when required—your license is suspended for one year. While you wait to have your case tried, you may feel left without the means to travel to work, go grocery shopping, or even travel to your lawyer’s office. But what many people charged with DUI don’t realize is that they already possess a ten day temporary license, in the form of their citation, and have the opportunity to extend it. You must act within 10 days or you will lose important rights. Don’t wait – call us at once.
At Fallgatter Catlin & Varon, P.A., our experienced criminal defense attorneys in Jacksonville ensure you understand that the yellow traffic ticket, known as the Florida Uniform Traffic Citation, you were issued when charged with DUI allows you to drive for ten calendar days from the date of your arrest. It can only be used for essential trips, however, like those mentioned above. And in those ten days, we make sure to file your application for a Formal Review Hearing, which gives you the chance to challenge your suspension.
Time is of the essence in applying for an extended temporary license
If you don’t file an application for a Formal Review Hearing within that ten-day period, your six-month suspension (or longer suspension, depending upon prior convictions) stays in effect. It’s important to file your application on time, and the DHSMV must schedule your hearing within 30 days from the date your application was approved.If you had a valid license at the time of your arrest, your ten-day temporary license will be extended to an additional 42 days.
If you fail to apply for an extension, you may apply for a hardship license after a certain amount of time by providing proof that you’ve enrolled in an approved alcohol or substance abuse education program.
The consequences of refusing sobriety tests
If you refuse to submit to breath, blood or urine tests when charged with your first DUI offense, your license is suspended for one year, with 18 months for any consecutive offenses. You still receive a 10-day temporary license but must serve 90 days of your suspension before you’re allowed to apply for a hardship license. If you’ve refused to submit to sobriety tests more than once, however, you are ineligible for a hardship license.
When you’re represented by us, we make sure you understand exactly how your DUI charge affects your driving privileges and can ensure you apply for temporary or hardship licenses on time.
Contact us for help with your temporary license following DUI charges in Florida
If you’ve been charged with DUI, it’s important to seek solid legal counsel as soon as possible, to protect your rights and your opportunity to drive with a temporary license for as long as possible. At Fallgatter Catlin & Varon, P.A., our Jacksonville attorneys understand the administrative penalties involved with DUI charges in Florida and are thoroughly prepared to help. Contact us online or call our office today at 904-353-5800 for a free consultation with a member of our firm.
Download a free copy of our DUI SURVIVAL GUIDE today!