Aggravated DUI Defense
Aggravated DUI Defense Attorneys
Solid defense for serious DUI offenses
In Florida, if you’re arrested for the first time for driving under the influence, or DUI, have a blood alcohol level (BAC) below .15 percent, and haven’t injured someone else in an accident, you’re usually charged with a misdemeanor, which is a serious enough offense. There are, however, DUI offenses that are far more serious and carry much harsher penalties. If you’ve been charged with felony or aggravated DUI, it’s in your best interest to get help from an experienced defense attorney who has had success challenging the case against you.
At Fallgatter Catlin & Varon, P.A., our criminal defense lawyers have extensive experience handling clients facing enhanced penalties for aggravated DUI, whether they are repeat offenders or are involved in an accident that severely injured or killed someone. We understand that your freedom and future are on the line and offer a vigorous defense of the serious charges against you. We also offer you a distinct advantage because we understand how the prosecution works—because members of our team were once prosecutors. We can thus offer you the best chance of avoiding conviction or at least having your charges reduced.
Offenses that constitute aggravated DUI in Florida
Prior DUI convictions can lead to aggravated DUI charges. If you’ve been convicted of DUI three times within 10 years, the charge is no longer a misdemeanor but a felony. Upon your fourth or subsequent DUI conviction, you automatically are charged with a felony, regardless of the time that’s lapsed between convictions.
A third-degree felony or aggravated DUI is also charged if you’ve caused another person or persons serious bodily injury (any disfiguring or permanent injury) while driving under the influence. It carries amaximum sentence of five years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Repeat felony convictions may result in 10-year prison sentences.
If your DUI has caused the death of a person or of an unborn child, you will be charged with DUI manslaughter, which may be either a second- or first-degree felony, with prison time up to 15 or 30 years.
In addition to jail time and fines, all DUI convictions involve license suspensions, vehicle immobilizations, and required attendance at alcohol treatment programs.
The enhanced penalties for those convicted of aggravated DUIs can affect you and your family for the rest of your lives. Please contact us as soon as you’re arrested so that we can prepare your defense as thoroughly as possible and offer you the best possible outcome.
Contact us for help with your aggravated DUI charge in Florida
If you’ve been charged with aggravated DUI, it’s important to seek solid legal counsel as soon as possible, to protect your rights and fight for your freedom. At Fallgatter Catlin & Varon, P.A., our Jacksonville attorneys understand the severe penalties that result from such charges in Florida and are thoroughly prepared to offer you a determined defense. Contact us online or call our office today at 904-353-5800 for a free consultation with a member of our firm.
Download a free copy of our DUI SURVIVAL GUIDE today!